Viola Zombie for 2 violas | Michael Daugherty, composer

Viola Zombie
for 2 violas (1991)

Instrumentation: 2 violas

World Premiere: June 16, 1991 / XIXth International Viola Convention, Ithaca, New York / Jeffrey Irvine and Lynn Ramsey

Peermusic Classical, BMI (Americas and Asia)
Faber Music (Europe, Australia and New Zealand)

Duration: 6:30 minutes

Program Note:

Viola Zombie (1991) was composed for violists Jeffery Irvine and Lynne Ramsey who gave its world premiere performance at the XIXth International Viola Congress, Ithaca, New York on June 16, 1991. The composer writes:

“You’re traveling through another dimension, a dimension not only of sight and sound but of mind; a journey into a world as vast as space and as timeless as infinity where two violas separated stereophonically on stage explore the musical and timbral possibilities of the imagination. You’re moving into a land of both shadow and substance, of things and ideas. That’s the signpost up ahead — your next stop, Viola Zombie.”