Asclepius fanfare for brass and percussion | Michael Daugherty, composer

fanfare for brass and percussion (2007)

Instrumentation: 4 horns, 4 trumpets, 3 trombones, tuba, timpani, 2 percussion (I=chimes,suspended cymbals, crash cymbals; II=glockenspiel, metal (small anvil or brake drum)

Publisher: Boosey and Hawkes, Hendon Music (BMI)

Duration: 6 minutes

World Premiere: June 7, 2007 / University of Michigan Cardiovascular Center / CVC Brass and Percussion Ensemble / Emily Threinen

Recordings: Raise the Roof, University of Michigan Symphony Band

Program Note:

Asclepius (2007) fanfare for brass and percussion was, commissioned by Dr. Cyrus Farrehi for the grand opening of the University of Michigan Cardiovascular Center. The work was premiered June 7, 2007 by the CVC Brass and Percussion Ensemble, conducted by Emily Threinen. The title refers to Asclepius [pronunciation: as-klee’-pee-uhs], the Greek God of medicine. Using the pulse of a beating heart as a musical metaphor, the majestic fanfare celebrates men and women who devote their lives to the noble cause of medical research and healing.

–Michael Daugherty