MXYZPTLK for two flutes and orchestra from Metropolis Symphony | Michael Daugherty, composer

for two flutes and orchestra from Metropolis Symphony (1988)

Instrumentation: 2 solo flutes (II. doubles pic); 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons; 2 horns, trumpet, trombone; synthesizer, 1 or 2 percussion (2 gongs/3 triangles/3 woodblocks/suspended cymbal); strings

Peermusic Classical, BMI (Americas and Asia)
Faber Music (Europe, Australia and New Zealand)

Duration: 7 minutes

World Premiere: February 1989 / Finney Chapel, Oberlin, Ohio / Cleveland Chamber Symphony / Edwin London

Program Note:

Mxyzptlk, the third movement of Metropolis Symphony, is named after a mischievous imp from the fifth dimension who regularly wreaks havoc on Metropolis. This brightly orchestrated movement is the scherzo of the symphony, emphasizing the upper register of the orchestra. It features two dueling flute soloists who are positioned stereophonically on either side of the conductor. Rapidly descending and ascending flute runs are echoed throughout the orchestra, while open-stringed pizzicato patterns, moving strobe-like throughout the orchestra, are precisely choreographed to create a spatial effect.

–Michael Daugherty