Bay of Pigs for string quartet or string quintet (2006)
listen to a sound clip Listen!
Turn on your JavaScript
play / pause 00:00
play position
00:00 mute / unmute
volume control
  • I. Havana Dreams
  • II. Waterfall
  • III. Anthem

Classical guitar & string quartet or string quintet

Boosey and Hawkes, Hendon Music (BMI)

16 minutes

World Premiere
July 31, 2006 / Patras, Greece / Manuel Barrueco / Cuarteto Latinoamericano

Program Note
Bay of Pigs (2006) for classical guitar and string quartet or string quintet

Bay of Pigs (2006) for classical guitar and string quartet or string quintet is a three-movement elegy for Cuba, past and present.

In the first movement, "havana dreams," I have composed bittersweet, brooding music for Cuba before the revolution, as remembered by Cuban exiles around the world. Fidel Castro (b. 1926), who commanded the revolution in 1959, has been dictator of Cuba since that time. The second movement, entitled "water fall," evokes the turbulent seas surrounding Cuba. Here thousands of refugees have fled by boat and battles have been won and lost, including the failed 1961 Bay of Pigs invasion by Cuban exiles. The ominous and angry rhythms of the final movement, "anthem," echo the revolutionary chanting of Fidel Castro and the guerilla ghost of his communist ally, Che Guevara.

Bay of Pigs was commissioned by Music Accord for Manuel Barrueco. The first performance was given by Manuel Barrueco (classical guitar) with the Cuarteto Latinoamericano on July 31, 2006 in Patras, Greece for the Patras-European Capital of Culture 2006.

--Michael Daugherty

For more information on Michael Daugherty' music visit:
Boosey & Hawkes
Peermusic Classical
Faber Music
American Composers Forum
Michael Daugherty Music