Oh, Lois! from Metropolis Symphony (1989)
listen to a sound clip Listen!
Turn on your JavaScript
play / pause 00:00
play position
00:00 mute / unmute
volume control
  • IV. Oh, Lois!

2 flutes (piccolo), 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons; 4 horns, 3 trumpets, 3 trombones; timpani, 2 percussion (I=low triangle/small gong/flexatone/whip or slapstick; II=high triangle/large gong/flexatone/whip or slapstick); synthesizer/keyboard; strings

Peermusic Classical, BMI (Americas and Asia)
Faber Music (Europe, Australia and New Zealand)

5 minutes

World Premiere
February 1989 / Finney Chapel, Oberlin, Ohio. / Clevaland Chamber Symphony / Edwin London
Final version: July 1990 / New York Philharmonic / New York, NY / Lawrence Leighton Smith

Program Note
Oh, Lois! (1989) for orchestra

IV. Oh, Lois! invokes Lois Lane, news reporter at the Daily Planet alongside Clark Kent (alias Superman). Marked with the tempo "faster than a speeding bullet," this five-minute concerto for the orchestra uses flexatone and whip to provide a lively polyrhythmic counterpoint that suggests a cartoon history of mishaps, screams, dialogue, crashes, and disasters, all in rapid motion.

For more information on Michael Daugherty' music visit:
Boosey & Hawkes
Peermusic Classical
Faber Music
American Composers Forum
Michael Daugherty Music