Krypton from Metropolis Symphony (1993)
listen to a sound clip Listen!
Turn on your JavaScript
play / pause 00:00
play position
00:00 mute / unmute
volume control
  • II. Krypton

Piccolo, 2 oboes, Eb clarinet, Bb clarinet, bass clarinet, 2 bassoons, contrabassoon; 4 horns, 4 trumpets, 3 trombones, tuba; 4 percussion, keyboard; strings

World Premiere
March 1993 / Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan / Philharmonia Orchestra / Donald Schleicher

Peermusic Classical, BMI (Americas and Asia)
Faber Music (Europe, Australia and New Zealand)

7 minutes

Program Note
Krypton (1993) for orchestra

II. Krypton refers to the exploding planet from which the infant Superman escaped. A dark, microtonal soundworld is created by glissandi in the strings, trombone, and siren. Two percussionists play antiphonal fire bells throughout the movement, as it evolves from a recurring solo motive in the cellos into ominous calls from the brass section. Gradually the movement builds toward an apocalyptic conclusion.

For more information on Michael Daugherty' music visit:
Boosey & Hawkes
Peermusic Classical
Faber Music
American Composers Forum
Michael Daugherty Music