Lex for violin and orchestra from Metropolis Symphony (1991)
listen to a sound clip Listen!
Turn on your JavaScript
play / pause 00:00
play position
00:00 mute / unmute
volume control
  • I. Lex

Solo violin; 3 flute (piccolo), 2 oboe, english horn, 2 clarinets, bass clarinet, 2 bassoons, contrabassoon; 4 horns, 3 trumpets, 2 trombones, bass trombone, tuba; timpani, 4 percussion (marimba/xylophone/vibraphone/glockenspiel/3 cowbells/hi-hat/3 woodblocks/triangle/police whistle/gong/crotales/bongos/ratchet/crash cymbals/whip/finger cymbals/tambourine), synthesizer; strings

World Premiere
January 1994 / Meyerhoff Concert Hall, Baltimore, Maryland / Baltimore Symphony Orchestra / David Zinman

Peermusic Classical, BMI (Americas and Asia)
Faber Music (Europe, Australia and New Zealand)

12 minutes

Program Note
Lex (1991) for violin and orchestra

Lex (1991) derives its title from one of Superman's most vexing foes, the supervillain and business tycoon Lex Luthor. Marked "Diabolical" in the score, this movement features a virtuoso violin soloist (Lex) who plays a fiendishly difficult fast triplet motive in perpetual motion, pursued by the orchestration and a percussion section that includes four referee whistles placed quadraphonically on stage.

For more information on Michael Daugherty' music visit:
Boosey & Hawkes
Peermusic Classical
Faber Music
American Composers Forum
Michael Daugherty Music