Firecracker for solo oboe and chamber ensemble (1991)
listen to a sound clip Listen!
Turn on your JavaScript
play / pause 00:00
play position
00:00 mute / unmute
volume control
  • Firecracker

Solo oboe; flute(piccolo), bass clarinet; violin, cello; percussion, keyboard

World Premiere
December 1988 / Finney Chapel, Oberlin, Ohio / Alex Klein, oboe / Oberlin Contemporary Music Ensemble / Larry Rachleff

Peermusic Classical, BMI (Americas and Asia)
Faber Music (Europe, Australia and New Zealand)

13 minutes

Program Note
Firecracker (1991) for large chamber ensemble

Firecracker (1991) is a concerto for solo oboe and chamber ensemble of flute(picc), bass clarinet, violin, cello, piano and percussion. It is a virtuosic piece spun off from the a motive, inspired by the diabolically difficult etudes of Antonio Pasculli (1842-1924), perhaps the greatest oboe virtuoso of his day: The musical fireworks are briefly interrupted by a playful tango interlude. The stereophonic stage arrangement of the ensemble emphasizes the deliberate spacial patterning of sound employed throughout the work, which I chose to call "visual music." Firecracker celebrates the rhythmic and explosive potential of the oboe and was written for Alex Klein, the award winning principal oboist of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, and the Oberlin Contemporary Music Ensemble.

-- Michael Daugherty

For more information on Michael Daugherty' music visit:
Boosey & Hawkes
Peermusic Classical
Faber Music
American Composers Forum
Michael Daugherty Music