March of the Metro (2008)
listen to a sound clip Listen!
Turn on your JavaScript
play / pause 00:00
play position
00:00 mute / unmute
volume control
  • March of the Metro

2 flute (piccolo), 2 oboes, english horn, 2 clarinets, bass clarinet, 2 bassoons, contrabassoon; 4 horns, 3 trumpets, 3 trombones, tuba; timpani, 3 percussion (I=glockenspiel/piccolo snare drum; II=glockenspiel/bass drum/crash cymbals; III=chimes/amplified kazoo), strings

Boosey and Hawkes, Hendon Music (BMI)

4 minutes

World Premiere
November 6, 2008 / Symphony Hall, Phoenix, Arizona / Phoenix Symphony / Michael Christie

Program Note
March of the Metro (2008) for orchestra

My four-minute march takes off with a fleeting tune first played by the flutes, two glockenspiels, strings pizzicato and amplified kazoo. A piccolo snare drum, cascading strings and rumbling lower brass occasionally interrupt the proceedings. While the opening theme continues on its own path, a countermelody, introduced by the tuba, is later passed on to soaring horns and strings. After an appearance of the first theme in musical canon, the countermelody transforms into a majestic coda.

-- Michael Daugherty

For more information on Michael Daugherty' music visit:
Boosey & Hawkes
Peermusic Classical
Faber Music
American Composers Forum
Michael Daugherty Music